A Seperate Beat of Mine

A feeling deep inside me,

A scream in the dark,

One beat here another there,

Is this your heart?

My stomach hums a melody,

A tune only you hear,

I wait,

I anticipate until your due is near.

Lights flash a camera I see,

But no recorder can record your heartbeat,

I feel you kick I feel you rise,

One more push to I see your eyes.

I did it now I finally see,

My baby, my little girl’s heart beat inside of me.

Ebony Freeman (dedicated to my aunt’s baby Angel Char’ Williams 2014-2014)

Leave a Reply

